Posted by: stpowen | December 24, 2016

‘See He Lies there in a Manger…..

……..Who once made the earth and sky.

Down from heaven He’s come a stranger;

Newly born, yet born to die.

Hands almighty, now lie helpless

Round His mother’s finger curled;

Lips so gracious, now yet speechless,

Soon will speak to all the world.’

[Graham Harrison]

 

First of all, may I apologize to my longsuffering reader, for the lack of posts these last many months.  I had expected that retirement would give me the opportunity to increase my output on this blog, but alas!  The opposite has happened.  Over the past year or so I have increased my responsibilities in my church and also within the Gideons organization.  Also, to my shame, there is no doubt that I have slowed down somewhat in my activities to match my slower way of life.  However, I do not intend to abandon the Marprelate blog, so I hope to be posting regularly once more in the coming year.

The past year has been one of many surprises in the world.  The hearts of many people  seem to be failing them for fear (Luke 21:26), especially at the prospect of ‘Brexit’ and President Trump, yet the Christian should not be shaken by earthly events, especially at this time of year.  ‘For this reason the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil’ (1 John 3:8), and there is no doubt whatsoever that He will in God’s good time.

 

A very merry Cheistmas to all who visit this blog!

Leave a Reply

Categories

