Posted by: stpowen | December 4, 2015

God Spoke to Me This Week

Psalm 119:25, 89. ‘My soul clings to the dust; revive me according to Your word………..My soul faints for Your salvation, but I hope in Your word.’

God spoke to me this week.  “What?” You say; “Has Martin gone all mystical and charismatic on us?”  Hardly, but God still spoke to me this week, as clear as daylight.

I was rather depressed at the end of last week.  The ultimate cause of this despondency was the news that some judge or other had ruled that Northern Ireland’s laws on abortion, passed by the democratically-elected assembly in that Province, breached the Human Rights Act.  This will doubtless have effects upon abortion laws in the rest of Britain.  The procedure is already very widely available.  It will soon be every mother’s basic human right to kill her unborn child.

It wasn’t so much that individual occurrence, but the fact that increasingly Christians in Britain seem to be outcasts and pariahs- characterized as deniers of fundamental human rights.  More and more, I feel an outsider in my own country. At the same time we are witnessing the apostasy of large sections of the Church, and we have a vainglorious Prime Minister stoking the flames of war just so that he can sit with his fellow-leaders and hear them say, “He has cojones, that Cameron.”. I was asking myself, what is God doing? How can He allow all this stuff to go on?

Then, as clear as a bell, God spoke to me from Psalm 73: ‘But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled; my feet had nearly slipped, for I was envious of the boastful, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.’ Why should I be surprised or upset if there are ‘perilous times’ in the last days, or if ‘evil men and imposters…grow worse and worse, deceiving and being deceived’ (2 Tim. 3:1, 13). If it were not so, the Bible wouldn’t be true.

But of course, Psalm 73 has more to say: ‘When I thought how to understand this, it was too painful for me until I went into the sanctuary of God. Then I understood their end, Surely you set them in slippery places; You cast them down to destruction’ (vs. 16-18). The wicked are not always going to triumph, and God’s laws are not going to be trampled on forever. By providence, part of my reading for that very day was 2 Peter3:9 and God spoke to me again: ‘The Lord is not slack concerning His promises as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.’ Now is not the time for us to be discouraged or to complain; it is the time for us to be evangelising, in church, in the streets, door-to-door, however the Lord leads us, because God still has more people to be saved.

Responses

  1. Excellent thought to start the day. You may wish to correct the typo in the quote from Ps. 73, i.e. tom should be to.

  2. Thank you, Marcia.
    Typo corrected.


Leave a Reply

Categories

