Posted by: stpowen | May 28, 2010

Handing out Scriptures

‘….That you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life’ (Phil 2:15-16).

 As a member of Gideons International, I am supposed to take every opportunity to witness to people and to givethem a copy of the New Testament.  I don’t always do as well as I should, but at a large agricultural show recently, I was able to speak to a number of non-Christians and handed out over fifty N.T.s in a single day.

Although we have the promise of Isaiah 55:10-11), in my weaker moments, I sometimes wonder whether it all does any good; whether anybody actually reads the things.  So I was encouraged to read in New Focus magazine (1) the following story about C. H. Spurgeon.

 
Mr. Spurgeon said that a month ago he had hailed a cab and had been driven home in it.  When he paid the man he said, “It is a long time since I drove you last, sir.”
“Did you ever drive me before?” Asked Mr. Spurgeon; and added, “I do not recollect you.”
“Oh yes, ” said the man, “It is about fourteen years ago;  but if you have forgotten me, perhaps you will remember this,” and as he spoke, he pulled a Testament from his pocket.
What?” Said Mr. Spurgeon, “Did I give you that?”
“Yes, sir; and you spoke to me about my soul, and nobody had ever done that before.  I have never forgotten it.”
“And haven’t you worn the Testament out in all these years?”
“No, I wouldn’t let it be worn out.  I have had it bound.”
Mr. Spurgeon thought it a good illustration of the fact that the gift of a New Testament is never made in vain.
Note.
 
(1) ‘New Focus.’  Published by Go Publications, the Cairn, Hill Top, Egglestone, Co. Durham, DL12 0AU.
Responses

  1. We often wounder what has become of the scriptures, tracts, calenders, CDs we put through the letter boxes of the homes around the church, accompanied by many prayers. It can be very discouraging when over many years there is no visible response. You feel like it is a fruitless exercise.
    I have however come to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter if we know the effect of these endeavors or not, and neither does it matter to us if there is any fruit. Many of the OT prophets were sent being told people would not listern to them.

    Is 6 9 &10 And he said, Go, and tell this people, Hear ye indeed, but understand not; and see ye indeed, but perceive not. Make the heart of this people fat, and make their ears heavy, and shut their eyes; lest they see with their eyes, and hear with their ears, and understand with their heart, and convert, and be healed.
    Jer 6:10 To whom shall I speak, and give warning, that they may hear? behold, their ear is uncircumcised, and they cannot hearken: behold, the word of the LORD is unto them a reproach; they have no delight in it.

    As with the prophets, our work is to carry on to warn, to encourage and to spread the Good Tidings of great joy which shall be to all people. Their spiritual state and un-readiness to receive the word should be no surprise (and such were some of you).
    Eternity will reveal all things

  2. Hi Martin,
    There are many testimonies of saints that reveal seeds being planted many years earlier but didn’t bear fruit until much later. We don’t know what the Lord’s plan is for these things, but we carry forth the command to spread the news of the Gospel, not so much so we can see those fruits (though it would be encouraging), but because it pleases the Triune God. It was a command given by Christ. No work (especially hidden) goes unnoticed by the Father and He will richly those who remain faithful in the kingdom to come.

    We should see this as an honor. And I have to say homestly, we do not nearly as much face the persecution that the Old Saints faced when the Lord commanded them to preach to an ungodly people. Sometimes I fear that the church today is asleep at the wheel and maybe we do need persecution to wake us up! We are not nearly as active as we should be in spreading the Gospel. I know for myself, when I had heard the Gospel … I was shocked (I was a Roman Catholic). I was shocked because it was too good to be true! I am only thankful for the person who had the courage to share this message to me regardless of how I might have received it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

